Dallas ISD rezones 33-acre campus to rebuild public school
What's proposed
The site is zoned PD 825 and holds a public school (on site since 1955) and parking. Applicant/owner Dallas Independent School District (rep: Elsie Thurman) asks to end PD 825 and rezone: (1) the northern parking-lot portion to R-7.5(A) Single Family, which DISD expects to sell; (2) the main campus to TH-1(A) Townhouse, whose zero-foot front setback lets security fencing and athletic-field light poles go near the property line without variances; and (3) a new SUP for a public school so the campus can be rebuilt with new buildings and lots. TH-1(A) caps height at 36 ft (PD 825 allowed 45 ft). No school buildings are allowed on the northern lot.
Staff recommendation
"Approval of 1) R-7.5(A) Single Family District, 2) TH-1(A) Townhouse District, and 3) a new Specific Use Permit for a public school, subject to a site plan and conditions." Key conditions: light poles max 80 ft, on only 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. Monday-Saturday, meeting International Dark Sky standards; 6-ft sidewalks with 5-ft buffers on all four frontages; traffic management plan at permitting; no expiration date.
Who it helps or hurts
R-7.5(A) single family surrounds the site on all sides. Staff names noise, light and traffic as the main impacts; lighting hours, Dark Sky standard and traffic plan are the mitigation. Check pole placement on the site plan.
The northern lot becomes R-7.5(A) and is slated to leave DISD ownership, creating a future single-family development parcel. CR Community Retail exists along Bruton Road. No zoning cases in the notification area in five years; MVA area "H".
Within about 1,000 feet
N. Prairie Creek Road arterial; DART Route 218 within half a mile (service on Bruton Road).
Watch for
- Held from Sept 17; the report does not state why, and no changes have been submitted since the previous hearing.
- 289 property owners notified; replies not stated. School name and grade level are not stated in the report.
Next step
Both the zoning changes and the SUP go to City Council for a public hearing and ordinance after CPC action.
Source
Staff report: source PDF · Site plan: source PDF · Legistar file 26-3214A.
Only the cases near you, every week, across DFW. $40/month.