Remove no-multifamily deed restriction at Camp Wisdom and Clark
What's proposed
Owner Texaz Perceptions Partners, LTD (applicant Kiesha Kay / Mission Ridge Consultants) asks the City to terminate deed restrictions Z834-123 (Tract 6B) on land zoned CR Community Retail. The restrictions prohibit multifamily and cap multifamily at 0.25 FAR and 2 stories / 54 ft. Staff states that under Senate Bill 840 and Chapter 218 of the Texas Local Government Code the City must allow multifamily on retail-zoned land without density or floor-area limits and cannot enforce these restrictions anyway; the applicant wants them removed as a formality for its lender. No zoning change and no new construction are proposed; CR zoning stays.
Staff recommendation
"Approval." No conditions, time limits or replacement restrictions are listed.
Who it helps or hurts
The report lists multifamily north (PD 599) and east (PD 938), multifamily under development west (PD 1129), and Duncanville to the south. Single-family owners on Clarkview Dr, Clarkwood Dr, Clarktown Ct and Keywe Pl are on the notification list. Termination clears the way for an apartment or mixed-use project state law already permits; no buffers, screening or hours are added. Engineering had no objection.
follows Z223-304 (Mar 26, 2025), which created an MU-1 PD and terminated part of the same Z834-123 restrictions just northwest of this corner. Signals remaining Z834-123 tracts can be cleared. Area is MVA "F".
Within about 1,000 feet
W. Camp Wisdom Road and Clark Road are both principal arterials (107 ft ROW); DART route 223 within a half mile; staff cites proximity to "large educational facilities" (not named).
Watch for
- Page footers read "Z-26-000193" while the file number is Z-26-000191 — a clerical inconsistency worth confirming on the record.
- 27 property owners notified (list dated 09/21/2026); replies not stated in the report.
- Because the City considers the restrictions unenforceable, the practical effect is formal rather than substantive.
Next step
Yes — the termination goes to City Council after CPC (the 2025 precedent was done by Council resolution); date not stated in the report.
Source
source PDF · Legistar file 26-3210A.
Only the cases near you, every week, across DFW. $40/month.